Conservation Commission

Hooksett Riverwalk Trail Grand Opening, May 16, 2024, at 4:00-5:30 PM!
Event Flyer
Press Release

Event Schedule

Want to keep up to date on what the Hooksett Conservation Commission is working on? Read their blog!
Explore. Protect. Reconnect.
Meetings: Monthly meetings are held on the second Monday of each month, at 4:30 pm, at the Municipal Building. Most Meetings last an average of two hours. On-site inspections are scheduled as needed and last one to three hours.

Duties: Review wetland permits and provides comments. Review and respond to wetland inquiries and complaints. Work with the Town, State, Federal and private agencies and individuals on wetland and conservation issues. Review and update Town ordinances and resource information concerning wetlands, prime wetlands, natural resources inventory and other conservation concerns, and other activities as determined by the Commission. Plan for and preserve community green spaces.

Other: Associate members may be appointed by the Commission. These members are people with a special interest in the Commission and/or can provide specialized expertise to the Commission. These members are not required to attend regular meetings and do not have voting authority.

Qualifications for board membership include an interest in Conservation, willingness to devote time to commission work, background or interest in wildlife, outdoor activity, earth sciences, ecology or community planning. Potential conflict of interest for realtors or attorneys who frequently represent developers.

Administrative Code:

Section 4.3: Research and catalog all open space, natural, ecological, wetland or aesthetic areas within the Town; develop a program to protect listed areas; and obtain land in the name of the Town through gift, purchase, grant, bequest or other legitimate means for continued preservation.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
  Administrative Assistant (603) 485-4117

Board Members

Name Title
Philip Fitanides Member (06/30/2025)
Deborah Miville Member (06/30/2025)
JoCarol Woodburn Chair (06/30/2026)
John Pieroni Alternate (06/30/2025)
Robert Better Alternate (06/30/2026)
Alex Walczyk Town Council Representative
Sheena Gilbert Planning Board Representative
Alan Stein Member (06/30/2026)